The Devil’s Punchbowl, Hindhead, Surrey

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Good morning from the night-shrouded beauty that is the county of Surrey.

I was born in this beautiful county over 4 decades ago. Whilst I have occasionally craved a change, wanting to live elsewhere, I have remained in Surrey, falling in love with the county I am still learning about with each passing year.

The people of Surrey are truly blessed with the most breathtaking countryside; abundant with exotic wildlife co-existing with its own native flora and fauna. The National Trust is one of a devoted number of charities and organisations who look after these amazing landscapes. One such location is the glorious natural amphitheatre known as The Devil’s Punchbowl. Nestling comfortably in Hindhead, a village on the outermost regions of South Surrey, the Punchbowl possesses scenes of dramatic splendour, varying throughout the seasons; a scenic retreat when one feels the strong need to reconnect to nature.

Sunday afternoon was spent in this stunning location; enjoying the clear views across the Surrey skies, staring down into the cool lush greenery of the valleys embraced by the heather and gorse-kissed embankments carved away by water erosion many years ago. We also had the opportunity to view the healing scar which had once been the home of one of England’s busiest stretches of road – the A3. The Hindhead stretch of the A3 was closed upon the opening of the new Hindhead Tunnel back in 2011. It is remarkable to see just how quickly Mother Nature, with the loving healing hands of the many caretakers of the land, has reclaimed this area. Work is still underway to reconnect the Punchbowl with the neighbouring Hindhead Common but everything is going well.

The images in the slideshow above were taken by a very talented young artist and photographer – a young artist and photographer who just also happens to be my Amazing Daughter. She has captured the essence of the Devil’s Punchbowl and its flora and fauna perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚

Willow

3 responses to “The Devil’s Punchbowl, Hindhead, Surrey

  1. I am a Canadian veteran that trained as a dispatchrider there in 1943.
    I know we did a lot of damage to the landscape and wondered if you have any photos from those days

    • Dear Harry. Firstly, I would like to thank you for your service during World War 2. Secondly, please don’t worry… The Devil’s Punchbowl is a beautiful haven in our glorious world. Mother Nature heals herself amazingly well. ๐Ÿ™‚ With respect to photographs, I personally do not have any photographs of the Hindhead area during the 1940s but I certainly know where to ask. Let me see what I can do ๐Ÿ™‚ Warmest regards and, once more, many grateful thanks. Willow.

    • Dear Harry. I hope you are well ๐Ÿ™‚
      I have been in contact with the Surrey History Centre who have provided me with some very useful information… this may help you. Is it OK for me to post the details here on this blog? Warmest regards, Willow.

Leave a comment